India aim to finalize batting order in final warm-up game against Australia


Their preparations for the T20 World Cup are off to a good start, with India reportedly looking to finalize their batting order for the tournament proper when they face Australia in their second and final warm-up in Dubai on Wednesday. India will face Pakistan when they open their Super-12 lungs on Sunday. The tournament will be Virat Kohli’s last as a skipper in the format besides being head coach Ravi Shastri’s swansong.

Full coverage of the T20 World Cup | Schedule | Pictures | Points table

India team news

As Kohli pointed out ahead of the warm-up match against England on Monday, the top three Indians are already settled with KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma opening the stick and the skipper arriving at the crucial No.3 position. 70 filled with shots before retiring in the seven-wicket win over England, youngster Ishan Kishan also claimed a place in the eleven players.

What: India vs Australia, T20 WC Warm-up

When: October 20, Wednesday

Or: ICC Academy Ground, Dubai

Time: 3:30 p.m. HIST

Rishabh Pant (29 years old not eliminated) has been promoted ahead of SuryaKumar Yadav and it remains to be seen where the latter will beat on Wednesday. Rohit did not beat England and on Wednesday the right-hander is expected to try his luck against the Australians.

The talking point, however, remains the all-rounder Hardik Pandya, who didn’t seem comfortable during his brief stint against England. With Pandya not playing bowling, it remains to be seen if the Indian think tank will only play him as a hitter.

Without its bowling alley, India will also miss the sixth bowling option in case any of the five attacks have a day off on the pitch. Bhuvneshwar Kumar had one against England on Monday, but Jasprit Bumrah was at his best.

Mohammed Shami picked up three wickets but went for points, while Rahul Chahar was taken to task by England hitters. And come Wednesday, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur and the mysterious spinner Varun Chakravarthy should take a look before the main activity begins.

On recent form, since losing 2-0 at home to Australia ahead of the 2019 ODI World Cup, India was undefeated in eight consecutive series. Since the 2016 T20 World Cup, India has played 72 T20 matches and won 45.

Australia Team News

Australia also started to win their preparations with Josh Inglis hitting two fours in the final to help his side beat New Zealand by three wickets in a warm-up match in Abu Dhabi on Monday.

There was mixed news for Australia in their first warm-up as David Warner’s horror race continued after he was sacked for a duck at the first ball. Adam Zampa (2/17) and Kane Richardson (3/24) impressed with the ball, but a mid-order slump meant the Australians needed late cameos from Ashton Agar (23 of 18 balls), Mitchell Starc (13 out of 9) and Inglis (8 out of 2) to ensure victory.

Australians have never really been a huge force in the shorter format and it remains to be seen if they are finally able to shake things up on the bigger stage.

Full squads

India: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumhar, Thakdul ,.

Australia: Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa .

Get all IPL and Cricket Score news here

Source link


Leave A Reply