Regis Chakabva named captain as Zimbabwe announce 17-member squad for 3-game ODI series against India


To beat Régis Chakabva will lead a 17-man Zimbabwe side in the three-game international series against India, which kicks off here on August 18.

All three matches will take place at the Harare Sports Club. The second and third games are scheduled for August 20 and 22.

Zimbabwe will also miss Blessing Muzarabani, Tendai Chatara and Wellington Masakadza, who are all recovering from torn thigh muscles, broken collarbones and shoulder tendon injuries.

Régis Chakabva (Credits: Twitter)

According to a press release issued by Zimbabwe Cricket, “Chakabva will lead the home team in the absence of a regular captain Craig Ervin still nursing a torn left hamstring.

KL Rahul will lead India against Zimbabwe

Earlier today, it was confirmed that KL Rahul will lead India in the series instead of Shikhar Dhawan.

Dhawan led India to a 3-0 success in the three-game ODI series in the Caribbean last month and was also selected as captain for the Zimbabwe tour. There were no further changes to the squad that was named last week.

KL Rahul
KL Rahul. (Picture: Twitter)

Rahul hasn’t played since the end of the IPL 2022 when he was ruled out of the five-game T20I home series against South Africa due to a groin condition. He then traveled to Germany and successfully underwent surgery for a sports hernia before returning to India and rehabilitating at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore. The right-handed hitter then tested positive for Covid-19 ahead of the West Indies tour and was forced to miss the entire trip.

With uncertainties and reservations about his place in India’s T20 squad ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia in October, Rahul was picked as Rohit Sharma’s chief assistant in the 15-man India Cup squad. Asia.

Zimbabwe Full squad

Ryan Burl, Regis Chakabva (captain), Tanaka Chivanga, Bradley Evans, Luke Jongwe, Innocent Kaia, Takudzwanashe Kaitano, Clive Madande, Wessly Madhevere, Tadiwanashe Marumani, John Masara, Tony Munyonga, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Sikandar Raza, Milton Shumba , Donald Tiripano.

Read also : Asian Cup 2022: Shakib Al Hasan doubts tournament despite sponsorship deal with betting company


Comments are closed.