Phillip Island School Gymnasium for Major Architect Award


IF IT IS both function and form, Cowes Primary School’s new gymnasium is set to win the ‘Commercial, Community and Public Award’ at the 2022 Architeam Awards night on Friday November 18, hands down.

According to Cowes Primary School principal Rod McKenzie, the new gymnasium has been an absolute godsend through this year’s wet winter and spring, since it opened in May 2022.

“It’s been fantastic and not just for us, but also for the community,” McKenzie said this week.

The school was able to continue all of its physical education programs, even on the rainiest days, and when needed, was able to come together as an entire school community for assemblies.

Designed by Project 12 Architecture and constructed by Becon Constructions, the building was nominated as one of four finalists in the Commercial, Community and Public Buildings section of this year’s Architeam Awards.

The award for commercial, community and public architecture could include multi-residential projects over $2 million, including offices, hospitality venues, retail stores, community centers, places of worship, showrooms, architectural studios, warehouses and more.

The Phillip Island Elementary School project ended up being a $5.5 million competition gymnasiumfunded by two rounds of state government grants, $550,000 from the 2019-20 state budget and an additional $4.95 million in 2020.

The finalists for this category are:

  • Spring Bay Mill – Gilby and Brewin Architecture
  • New Cowes Primary School Gymnasium – Project 12 Architecture
  • Converted Butcher Shop – Tsai Design
  • Hampton Park Secondary College Senior Learning Center – WOWOWA

The “competition” gymnasium was built to meet the growing needs of the students and the local community. The new gymnasium provides students with a versatile play space, and the local community can share these state-of-the-art facilities outside of school hours.

It is already widely used for community basketball.

Architeam is a membership association for Australian architects in small, medium and emerging practices. With 1,000 members nationwide, the association has been supporting young firms and small firms for 30 years.

In fact, this year’s awards night will also be the 30e birthday party.

The awards were open to all association members across Australia and included categories for new residential projects; residential alterations and additions; commercial, community and public architecture; unbuilt projects; and awards for innovation and contribution.

This year’s jury included Chairman Adam Newman of NWMN Architects, Fiona Dunin of FMD, Rory Hyde of Melbourne School of Design, Amy Muir of Muir Architecture, Jenni Officer of Officer Woods, Will Fung of CO-AP Architects and Anthony Gill of his firm of the same name.

The winners will be announced on Friday November 18 at the headquarters of circular fashion brand A.BCH Unit in Sims Street West Melbourne.


Comments are closed.