Nine recipients of excellence in teaching in the territory



Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 Territory Teaching Excellence Awards which recognize the dedicated teachers, principals, leaders and support staff who provide high caliber educational services throughout the Northern Territory.

These annual awards coincide with Northern Territory World Teachers’ Day, an important recognition day for educators around the world and an opportunity for schools to celebrate the positive results they have on the lives of young people.

Donna Wright, Principal of Sadadeen Primary School in Central Australia, is one of nine recipients of the Territory’s Excellence in Teaching Awards, winning the coveted Northern Territory Principal of the Year 2021.

Donna has dedicated 20 years to education in the Northern Territory, working collaboratively with teachers and staff to deliver rich programs to students.

As Principal of Sadadeen Primary School, Donna now focuses on learning opportunities and outcomes for all students across a range of learning areas through clear and consistent program delivery and expectations. high levels of learning.

She led her team at Sadadeen to dramatically improve the school environment to meet the diverse needs of their learners, through the development and implementation of a trauma-aware framework, which emphasizes understanding the impact of trauma on classroom learning and on how best to support students. those who have suffered trauma.

The other recipients of the 2021 Teaching Excellence Awards in the territory are:

Northern Territory Education Leader:

Amber Hitchcock, Humpty Doo Elementary School (upscale);

Northern Territory Primary Educator of the Year:

Tonia Niven, Nemarluk Primary School (Darwin);

Northern Territory Early Childhood Educator of the Year:

Michelle Righton, Katherine South Elementary School (Big Rivers);

Northern Territory Secondary Educator of the Year:

Sophie Grambeau, Laynhapuy Homelands School (East Arnhem);

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Educator of the Northern Territory of the Year:

Cheryle Edwards, Acacia Hill School (Center);

Northern Territory Inclusion Educator of the Year:

Fransina Norval, Tennant Creek High School (Barkly);

Trainer of the year in vocational training in the Northern Territory:

Alex Payne, Shepherdson College (East Arnhem); and

Northern Territory Education Support Person of the Year:

Anne Ryan, Anula Primary School (Darwin).

Quotes attributable to Education Minister Lauren Moss:

“The annual Territory Teaching Excellence Awards are an opportunity to thank our many teachers, principals and support staff for their exceptional efforts in helping our public school students across the Territory perform at their best. .

“Our educators do an incredible job inspiring, guiding and equipping our students with the skills and confidence to lead the land into the future.

“I congratulate all of our nominees and laureates for setting new standards of success towards quality education and a better future for our young Territorials. “

/ Public distribution. This material from the original organization / authors may be ad hoc in nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author (s). See it in full here.



Leave A Reply