Ken Suter recognized for his contribution to the architecture of the Northern Territory



Ken Suter won the President’s Award at the 2021 NT Architecture Awards.

Special Projects Director and former Charles Darwin University (CDU) CFO Ken Suter recently won the President’s Award at the 2021 NT Architecture Awards.

Mr. Suter has been recognized for his contribution to the architecture and design of the Northern Territory, including one of Darwin’s first Green Star buildings and many other buildings on CDU campuses.

He led the establishment of the Higher Education Building in Alice Springs in 2005, followed by the CDU Chancellery on the Casuarina Campus in 2009.

Mr Suter said the construction of a building was aimed at meeting the changing needs of people in the CDU community.

“It’s not just about building a building. It’s about creating a central place for the people who use it and strengthening the campus presence, ”Suter said.

“For example, for the Chancellery of the CDU, we have built an art gallery, a community hall providing space for events. We have also integrated the Indonesian garden. So, this is something that works for everyone.

The Chancellery building is a three-story administrative complex and received top honors from the Australian Institute of Architects in 2010. It includes innovations such as energy savings through controlled lighting and air conditioning by sensors.

Mr Suter also oversaw the establishment of the Australian Center for Indigenous Knowledge and Education, a $ 32 million project built in 2012.

It is a multi-faceted project comprising an iconic two-story, four-building educational complex, using sophisticated video facilities to deliver distance education.

The resort is one of Darwin’s first green-star buildings, a difficult target given Darwin’s extreme weather conditions.

“It’s a hub for Indigenous education and activities, and it’s a place Indigenous people feel comfortable with,” Suter said.

Mr. Suter also managed the design and construction of the Northern Australia Center for Oil and Gas in 2012, the CDU Waterfront Campus and the Trades Training Facility in 2014.

The NT Architecture Awards are presented by the Australian Institute of Architects, the leading body for architecture in Australia.



Leave A Reply