Fifty urgent care centers announced as part of Victoria-New South Wales partnership


Victoria Premier Daniel Andrews and New South Wales Premier Dominic Perrottet today announced a major healthcare partnership between the two states.

Victoria and NSW will each establish 25 urgent care services in partnership with general practitioners (GPs), bringing the total number of services in the two states to 50.

Stay up to date with the latest news with The Victorian Briefing – catch up on news as it happens:

It is hoped that the new services will help ease pressure on emergency departments, provide people with prompt care for urgent but non-critical conditions and free up essential resources for patients with more serious needs.

Mild infections, fractures and burns will be some of the conditions that the GP’s partner services can help with.

Services will operate for extended hours and patients will not be charged for services provided by GPs. Patients without a Medicare card will also be able to access services free of charge.

These new services will be commissioned in partnership with primary health networks, with locations determined by consideration of population, community needs and emergency service demand.

Andrews said the centers would help address the current health care crisis and support the restoration of the industry following the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Across the country, the pandemic has put enormous pressure on health systems, in part because – through no fault of their own – people have delayed seeing their GPs and accessing healthcare. primary”, he said.

“Every day it is getting harder to get to a GP on bulk billing. Victoria and New South Wales are doing something about it.

“We know and appreciate that the Commonwealth is looking at longer-term support for primary care, but we also know we need to act now to support health systems in Australia’s two largest states.”

Stay up to date with the latest news with The New South Wales Briefing – catch up on news as it happens:

Victoria locations

Ten centers will be created in partnership with Albury Wodonga Health, Alfred Hospital, Austin Hospital, Bendigo Hospital, Box Hill Hospital, Casey Hospital, Dandenong Hospital, Frankston Hospital, Latrobe Regional Hospital and Werribee Mercy Hospital.

10 more Victorian locations will be announced soon.

The two centers are in addition to the government’s recent $14.3 million investment to establish and run five new Priority Primary Care Centers (PPCCs) with Royal Melbourne Hospital, Northern Hospital Epping, Sunshine Hospital, Monash Medical Clayton Center and Grampians Health Ballarat.

New South Wales locations

The locations of future urgent care services in NSW will be provided where the need is greatest, based on demands faced by hospital emergency departments, including where services can be expanded rapidly.

Join Tom Tilley with regular rotating co-hosts Jan Fran, Annika Smethurst and Jamila Rizvi on The Briefing, Monday through Saturday, for the day’s headlines and breaking news as well as breaking news and interviews. Available on Listnr:


Comments are closed.