Artists Who Won The Academy of Country Music’s Triple Crown – Billboard


When Miranda Lambert finally won Entertainer of the Year for the first time at the 2022 ACM Awards on March 7, she landed what the Academy of Country Music likes to call her “triple crown” — a win in the new category. appropriate artist; in the appropriate male, female, duo or group category; and for artist of the year.

Lambert was not present at the Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas to accept her Entertainer of the Year award in person, but she will be on hand to receive the Triple Crown award during the 15th Annual ACM Honors at the legendary Ryman Auditorium. from Nashville on August 28. 24.

Merle Haggard was the first artist to meet the three-pronged criteria to receive the Triple Crown award in 1971 – although the ACM didn’t come up with the brilliant idea of ​​presenting a new award to Triple Crown winners until in 2005, when they notified the six artists who had qualified for the award at that time – Hag, Mickey Gilley, Barbara Mandrell, Brooks & Dunn, The Chicks and Kenny Chesney.

The awards have been presented in various ways over the years. Reba McEntire presented Mandrell with her Triple Crown award in 2005 at the 40th ACM Awards. Darius Rucker presented his award to Gilley in 2015 at an ACM event leading up to the 50th ACM Awards.

Carrie Underwood received her award during the ACM Awards telecast in 2010. Like Lambert, Jason Aldean received his at the ACM Honors (in 2016). The ACM plans to make these presentations at the ACM Honors in the future.

Two artists, The Chicks and Keith Urban, have qualified for the award but have yet to officially receive it. The ACM is waiting for the right opportunity to make the presentation.

Artists who qualified for the Triple Crown are almost evenly split between male artists and groups/duets (five) and female artists and groups/duets (four).

The only group to meet the criteria is The Chicks. The only duo to do so is Brooks & Dunn.

Here are the 10 artists who qualified for the Triple Crown Award. They are listed in chronological order based on when they won the third of these awards and thus qualified for the award.

Note: The years listed are the years of the ACM telecasts in which the various awards were presented. ACM records show the previous year, which they consider the year of record. So Lambert won the Artist of the Year 2021 award in 2022. We’ll call it 2022.


Comments are closed.